Chicago Chief Information Security Officer of the Year Award

cropped-issa-chicago-logo1.pngThe Chicago Chapters of the Information Systems Security Association (ISSA), Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) and the FBI’s Chicago Infragard Chapter present the 2014 Chicago Area CISO of the Year Award. The award has been established to publicly recognize top senior information security leaders who hold an increasingly important role in the corporate and social leadership environments for the company they represent. aitpDesigned to recognize the significance of how information security plays into the local and global business community, the nominations, judges and support comes from the community.

The winner of the 2013 CISO of the Year, Jason Witty, Senior Vice-President and CISO at U.S. Bancorp was selected after careful consideration of an impressive slate of nominees. infragardWith twenty-one years of information technology experience, twenty of these focused on information risk management, Witty scored highly in the areas of business-centric information security enablement, creating business value through information security solution development and engineering, leadership, talent development and intelligence-driven information security program management. He also scored highly in community outreach and leadership given the significant roles he has played with ChicagoFIRST, Cloud Security Alliance, Financial Services Information Sharing and Analysis Center (FS/ISAC), Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP), and the RSA Conference.

Here is List of the 2014 CISO of the Year Semi-Finalist Nominees, This years slate of nominees reflects a nice expansion with broader industry representation, highlighting the growing importance and recognition of the role of Information Security across the business community.
  • Waqas Akkawi, SIRVA Worldwide
  • Brian Cook, Citadel
  • Todd Fitzgerald, Grant Thornton
  • John Johnson, John Deere
  • Arlan McMillan, City of Chicago
  • Kevin Novak, Northern Trust
  • Jill Rhodes, Trustmark
  • Chris Sutherland, BMO Harris Bank
  • Arlene Yetnikoff, DePaul University
The two finalist candidates will be selected by September 15 and then go into the final judging round. This round will have them each interviewed by two CEO’s, the winner will be announced and recognized at the Awards Ceremony and Breakfast on October 15.


Eventbrite - 2014 Chicago CISO of the Year Award BreakfastChicago CISO of the Year Award Sponsored by ISSA, AITP and Infragard

Wednesday 8:00 am October 15th at The Metropolitan Club Chicago
Registration 7:30 – 8:00am
Awards Program 8:00 – 10:00am


ibm infobloxcom_logo mcafee f5_logo
 palacegate  SourceFire  Trusteer  Print



Tina Hauri and Wayne Johnson are Co-Chairs and responsible for the success of the program. Sponsorships are available and nominations for the 2014 CISO of the Year for the greater Chicago area are being accepted through July.

Please direct any inquires to:

Wayne Johnson
Co-Chair ISSA
Tina Hauri
Co-Chair AITP
(312) 282-3242